Shorinji Kempo uses the kyu-dan grade system. A beginner starts at 9th Kyu with a white “obi” or belt.  After passing a grading to assess technical skill and philosophical understanding, students recieve a new coloured tag, or a new belt. When a 1st Kyu (brown belt) student passes a grading, they become 1st Dan, or first degree black belt. After obtaining a black belt students may obtain higher Dan grades, but they continue to wear a black belt.


Grade Description Belt
9th Kyu White Belt White Belt
8th Kyu 9th Kyu + yellow tip White Belt with Yellow Tag
7th Kyu 8th Kyu + green tip White Belt with Yellow and Green Tags
6th Kyu 7th Kyu + blue tip White Belt with Yellow and Green and Blue Tags
5th Kyu 6th Kyu + brown tip White Belt with Yellow and Green and Blue and Brown Tags
4th Kyu Yellow belt Yellow Belt
3rd Kyu Green belt Green Belt
2nd Kyu Blue belt Blue Belt
1st Kyu Brown belt Brown Belt
1st Dan Black belt Black Belt


For any queries on grading issues, see your branch master after training.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>